5 Minute Friday: Expectations

Expectations can get us into trouble. How many times have you expected some situation/ person/ thing to be/ say/ turn out in a certain way and then been disappointed?

Someone once told me to not get excited about things because then you’ll just be disappointed if they don’t all fall perfectly into place. I’ve expected a lot out of myself and others all my life. I have been excited because that’s the journey!

I want to be at peace with what comes my way. God is God and not me, and He knows better than me about today, tomorrow and next year.

So, when I expect that I’ll have:

  • a healthy life
  • a long future
  • a growing family
  • another day

I’ll look forward to those things. But I am learning to rest in the fact that He knows the future He’s planned out for me.


I love the idea of 5 Minute Fridays! SO perfect for a recovering perfectionist like me! 🙂

Check out the blog below for more fun from thegypsymama.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

What Are Your Thoughts?

