Happy WOMEN’s Day!

As I walked into our favorite breakfast restaurant this morning, I was wished a happy Mother’s Day and given a rose by an employee. “Thanks, but I’m not a mom,” I said, and the girl let me know the flowers were only for mothers. So, on the way out the door, my sweet Brian handed me the prettiest lavender rose. He got it from the same girl (who was just doing as she was instructed). “I need one for my wife,” he told her.

photo(10)SO, happy WOMEN’S Day to all women, not only in the U.S. (where we have this joy and pain-filled Mothers Day) but everywhere. This includes those who are single and those who have partners. Those who have given birth and those who don’t want to, those who adopt or foster and those who don’t want to, those who work with children and those who don’t want to, those who love pets and those who don’t want to, those who are trying all they can to have children and those who don’t want to.

This includes those who are fighting for their voice and their freedom.

This includes those who have lost special women in their lives, and EVERY woman…for simply being who you are.

My heart is with each of you, with us.

You are loved (and don’t let Mothers Day make you think you aren’t)!

5 thoughts on “Happy WOMEN’s Day!”

  1. I think the activities surrounding Mother’s Day can actually be painful for a number of women and we need to be aware of that. For those mother’s who gave up a child because they could not care for them; for those who have had a child die; for those who make the choice to abort; for those who wish they could be mother’s; for those that have been mother’s without giving birth and so on. I do not like being in some place where they ask all of the mother’s to stand up. What do the mother’s mentioned above do? How does this make them feel. We need to value everyone mother’s or not. We need to tell them so. I’m glad Brian made sure you knew that.

    Like

What Are Your Thoughts?

