Little Bits of Hope: March

photo(1)
Are you out there, God?

 

“Yes, Father, I still believe in your goodness, despite what I see with my eyes;

Yes, Father, I still believe you have a plan for my life, despite what I feel in my heart;

Yes, Father, I still believe my best days are ahead of me, despite what my enemies and friends and family and loved ones say to me;

Even if you ask me to live in mystery the rest of my life, I will wake up every day and say yes, Father, I still believe in you (page 154). “

When I was a teenager I went to a Christian camp, where the theme was Where is God When Bad Things Happen? He’s On His Throne. Although, I wanted that to be enough for me, I couldn’t believe it was that easy. And if it was, what did it really mean? To me, it sounded like God was aloof in his safe place, while all of us down here really lived our crazy stories and hurt in unimaginable ways. What kind of God was he anyway? I felt alone.

As an adult, I eventually picked up Second Guessing God: Hanging On When You Can’t See His Plan by Brian Jones. If, like me, you’ve cried and begged, angrily wondering where God is when devastating things continue to happen every second, practically every place in the world, take a look at this relate-able book. His prayer (above) is so honest, choosing to trust when he can’t make sense of all that’s around him; it’s refreshing to to have an example like this, since he leans toward God, when times are mysterious and scary. Written with humor and transparency, Brian is a Jesus follower, who actually admits he does not know all the answers and lays out his struggles with what he sees around him. No worries, I’ll share my copy with you but will expect it back at some point (it’s just that good!).

2 thoughts on “Little Bits of Hope: March”

  1. I think we all ask why and get discouraged when things spiral out of our control. It helps to realize how little control we really have except for the choices we make about how we react to things. It does take courage to place our hope continuously in God when life wants us to give that up. Really where else could we place our hope? Where else could we go unless it is just somewhere we can do something temporarily to help us dampen the pain but it is there when we come back. We need to let the pain and uncertainty wash over us all the while we place our hope that God has our back even though we don’t see it.

    Like

  2. I think we all ask why and get discouraged when things spiral out of our control. It helps to realize how little control we really have except for the choices we make about how we react to things. It does take courage to place our hope continuously in God when life wants us to give that up. Really where else could we place our hope? Where else could we go unless it is just somewhere we can do something temporarily to help us dampen the pain but it is there when we come back. We need to let the pain and uncertainty wash over us all the while we place our hope that God has our back even though we don’t see it.

    Like

What Are Your Thoughts?

